DUMCS hosts the 7th Inter Year Moot Court Competition | The Daily Star
03:08 PM, September 16, 2017 / LAST MODIFIED: 06:10 PM, September 16, 2017

Law Event

DUMCS hosts the 7th Inter Year Moot Court Competition

Dhaka University Moot Court Society (DUMCS), the pioneer organisation in mooting in Bangladesh recently organised their signature yearly event, the 7th edition of the Inter Year Moot Court Competition from September 11-14, 2017. Students from the undergraduate level of law faculty participated in this much anticipated yearly competition.

The inaugural ceremony and draw of lots took place on September 11, 2017. Professor Dr. Borhan Uddin Khan, Chairman, Department of Law, University of Dhaka inaugurated the competition in the presence of all the participants of this year’s competition as well as the faculty members and the executive and general committee members of DUMCS. The ceremony was followed by the interns’ and researchers’ test.

The preliminary rounds of the competition were held on September 12 while the eight qualifying teams from the preliminary rounds battled it out in the quarterfinals on September 13. The competition shed light upon contemporary legal issues, such as the Ronhingya refugee crisis, the construction of Rampal power plant, instances of gross violations of human rights in developing nations by acts of the state and its forces, etc. Students through their articulate rhetoric and well analysed arguments and counter arguments sought to find solutions via legal means to these pressing issues.

The semifinals took place on September 13 and the grand finale was held on September 14. After an intense battle in the court room, the team of Riasat Azmi, Psymhe Wadud and Abdullah Al Jahid emerged as the champions of the competition, successfully defending their championship whereas the team of Nazifa Muniyat Quader, Meherba Sabrin and Md. Azhar Uddin Bhuiyan were the runner-up.

Israt Jahan Moumy, Psymhe Wadud and Tanzim Mohammed won the award of the top mooters of the competition while Jalal Uddin Ahmed, Md. Azhar Uddin Bhuiyan and Rawnak Miraj Ul Azam were adjudged as the best researchers. Nusrat Jahan, Azhar Mahmud and Saadat Tanvir from the freshman year won the award of best interns. Mollik Wasi Uddin Tami and Molla Md. Faruque Ahsan were given the ‘Spirit of the Moot’ award.

The runner-up team, the team consisting of Tanzim Mohammed, Shariful Islam, Md. Atiq Ullah and the team winning the 'Spirit of the Moot' award  won the awards for best memorials.

The winners in various categories were presented their awards during the closing ceremony. Professor Dr. Mizanur Rahman, former Chairman, National Human Rights Commission was the chief guest at the closing ceremony while Dr. Nakib Muhammad Nasrullah, Professor, Department of Law, University of Dhaka was the special guest. Professor Dr. Mohammad Nazmuzzaman Bhuian, Moderator, DUMCS was also present at the event. The guests in their speeches urged the mooters to continue mooting and uphold the legacy of DUMCS in national and global mooting competitions.

In continuation of its legacy, DUMCS intends to send the best mooters and researchers from this competition in various national and global mooting competitions in near future.

The event covered by Ali Mashraf, student of law at University of Dhaka.

Stay updated on the go with The Daily Star Android & iOS News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 22222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2222

Type START <space> BR and send SMS it to 2225

Leave your comments

Top News

Top News